One of the most successful bands to emerge within the effervescence of the new wave and synth-pop of the 1980s, the Norwegian band A-ha made their first four albums sources of hits, which remain in the sound history of pop music. "Take On Me", "The Sun Always Shines on TV", "Hunting High and Low", "I've Been Losing You", "Stay on These Roads" and "Crying in the Rain" are songs that made the group perpetuate for decades.

A-ha was formed in 1982 in Oslo. With their first compositions in their luggage, the trio formed by vocalist Morten Harket, guitarist Paul Waaktaar-Savoy and keyboardist Magne Furuholmen moved to London and at the end of 1983 won a contract with Warner Bros.

In 1984, the band released their first single, "Take On Me". However, it was not this original version that was successful. The definitive version included on the first album Hunting High and Low (1985) was his most successful song in the world, driven by the innovative video, in which it combined animation and real actors. In 2020, this video reached 1 billion views on the Youtube video platform.

In addition to "Take On Me", Hunting High and Low featured the tracks "The Sun Always Shines on T.V." and the title track.

A-ha remained in evidence with her following albums - Scoundrel Days (1986), Stay on These Roads (1988) and East of the Sun, West of the Moon (1990). After Memorial Beach(1993)'s commercial failure, the group went on a long hiatus.

The band returned with a new job in 2000, when they released Minor Earth Major Sky. Next came Lifelines (2002), Analogue (2005) and Foot of the Mountain (2009).

In 2009, A-ha announced that she would split up after the following year's tour, entitled "Ending on a High Note Tour". However, in 2015, the band performed at the Rock in Rio festival, celebrating its 30-year career. That same year, the trio recorded and released Cast in Steel, their tenth studio album. In October 2022, the trio released True North, an album that also originated a film that captures the recording sessions of the songs in 2021 held in the Norwegian city of Bodø.

Featured Songs