Animal Collective


The American band Animal Collective has its music based on psychedelic experiments, owner of a work difficult to be labeled. But, it is evident that folk and psychedelia are the references for the work the group has been doing since its formation in 1999, in Baltimore, Maryland. However, New York was the city where its members - Avey Tare (David Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox), Deakin (Brian Weitz) and Geologist (Josh Dibb) - settled.

The name Animal Collective was only adopted in 2003, from the album Here Comes the Indian, the first that brought together the four members. Previously, in 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003, the group respectively released the albums Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished (originally titled Avey Tare and Panda Bear), Danse Manatee (originally titled Avey Tare, Panda Bear and Geologist ), Hollinndagain and Campfire Songs.

After Here Comes the Indian, the band released the albums Sung Tongs (2004), Feels (2005) andStrawberry Jam (2007). In 2009, the group's eighth album was released, titled Merriweather Post Pavilion. More accessible-sounding, Merriweather Post Pavilionwas named the most critically acclaimed album of 2009 by Metacritic. Its successor, Centipede Hz, was released in 2012.

Animal Collective released in 2016 its tenth album, entitled Painting With. In 2018, the group released Tangerine Reef, an album without the participation of Panda Bear. Time Skiffs, the eleventh album, arrived in 2022.

Featured Songs