Despite being associated with grunge and having more success in the United States than in his country, Bush was formed in London in 1992 by Gavin Rossdale (vocals, guitar), Nigel Pulsford (guitar) and Dave Parsons (bass) and Robin Goodridge (drums).

The loud guitars and guttural vocals are the main elements that made the band one of the most successful after the success of Nirvana. His success on the rock scene of the 1990s is mainly due to his debut album, Sixteen Stone, released in 1994 and which hit hits like "Machinehead" and "Glycerine".

After the success of Sixteen Stone, Bush released the albums Razorblade Suitcase (1996), The Science of Things (1999) and Golden State (2001). The band disbanded in 2002.

In 2010, Gavin Rossdale and Robin Goodridge reformed the band with guitarist Chris Traynor and bassist Corey Britz. With this formation, the band released the albums The Sea of Memories (2011), Man on the Run (2014) and Black and White Rainbows (2017).

Bush returned in 2020 with a new album, The Kingdom, the eighth. Two years later came The Art of Survival.