Kings Of Leon


The brothers Caleb Followill (vocals, guitar), Nathan Followill (drums) and Jared Followill (bass) had their musical initiation playing gospel music during religious ceremonies given by their father, an evangelical pastor who traveled through the south of the USA preaching his doctrine. In 1997, when his father left the church and divorced, the brothers moved to Nashville, Tennessee, where they began to dedicate themselves to rock, initially without mentioning the lifestyle they led before.

The three brothers and their cousin Matthew Followill (guitar) form Kings of Leon in 2000. The band's southern garage rock attracted the attention of music critics (mainly English) with the debut EP Holy Roller Novocaine, released in February of 2003 by RCA Records. In July of the same year, the first album, Youth & Young Manhood, came out, which was well received by critics. The album was mainly known for the singles "Red Morning Light", "Molly's Chambers", "Wasted Time" and "California Waiting".

With Aha Shake Heartbreak, the second album, released in November 2004 in the United Kingdom and in February 2005 in the United States, the band's popularity grew worldwide. Following, the band released the albums Because of the Times (2007) and Only by the Night (2008), work that reached the top of the UK charts. The songs "Sex on Fire" and "Use Somebody" were the highlights of this successful album.

Kings of Leon's fifth studio album, entitled Come Around Sundown, came out in 2010. In 2011, after touring this album, the band announced a career break. However, not too long. In September 2013, the group released their sixth album, Mechanical Bull. Their successor, WALLS (short for "We Are Like Love Songs"), left in 2016. After a break from studio work, the band returned in 2021 with When You See Yourself.

Featured Songs