Wilco was formed in 1994 in Chicago by Jeff Tweedy and other members of the Uncle Tupelo group, which had just ended its activities. One of the representatives of the so-called Country-Rock, the group combines traditional American music with modern and urban rock.

With inspiration, sophistication and a certain experimentalism, the group released several albums that were received with critical praise, such as the celebrated Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, from 2002. This record has as a curious fact the rejection of the label Reprise Records, which in addition to refusing to launch it, the contract with the band ended.

Released by Nonesuch Records, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot was the band's most successful album, selling over 500,000 copies in the USA. Before him, Wilco released three albums: A.M. (1995), Being There (1996) and Summerteeth (1999).

In 2004, the group released their fifth album, A Ghost Is Born, which in 2005 won the Grammy for Best Alternative Music Album.

Less experimental than the previous ones, the album Sky Blue Sky came out in 2007. Two years later, the eighth album, Wilco (The Album), was released. Also in 2009, former band member Jay Bennett passed away. He left Wilco in 2001, after conflicts with leader Jeff Tweedy.

Wilco returned with a new album in 2011, when he released on his own label - dBpm - the disc The Whole Love. In July 2015, the group made their ninth studio album - Star Wars - available for free download for a limited time through their website. Schmilco, the group's tenth studio album, came out in 2016.

Featured Albums


2016 | Album

Star Wars

2015 | Album

The Whole Love

2011 | Album

Wilco (The Album)

2009 | Album

Sky Blue Sky

2007 | Album

A Ghost Is Born

2004 | Album


1999 | Album

Being There

1996 | Single


1995 | Album