The Flaming Lips


The Flaming Lips was formed in 1983 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, by guitarist Wayne Coyne. His eclectic music was consecrated in the alternative rock scene for its psychedelic arrangements, experimentalisms, traveling lyrics and songs with bizarre titles.

Simply titled The Flaming Lips, the band's first record was released in 1985 on vinyl, with Wayne Coyne (guitar), his brother Mark Coyne (vocals), Michael Ivins (bass) and Richard English (drums) in formation. After that release, Mark Coyne left the band and Wayne took over the vocals.

The trio released their first album, Hear It Is, in 1986. And the following year, Oh My Gawd!!!... came out. At that time, The Flaming Lips toured, opening Butthole Surfers shows and Wayne Coyne started a friendship with Jonathan Donahue, who would later form the Mercury Rev.

In 1988, after recording the album Telepathic Surger, released in 1989, drummer Richard English left the group. Nathan Roberts was added on drums and Jonathan Donahue became a temporary member of The Flaming Lips, contributing to the 1990 album In a Priest Driven Ambulance.

In 1991, the band signed a contract with Warner Bros., and the first record by the major label, Hit to Death in the Future Head, was released in 1992. Then, Donahue left the group to dedicate herself to Mercury Rev. E, also, drummer Nathan Roberts also left the band.

With a new drummer, Steven Drozd, and new guitarist, Ronald Jones, the band released in 1993 the popular album Transmissions from the Satellite Heart. This album left the band in evidence, mainly for the hit "She Don't Use Jelly".

In 1995, the group returned with a new studio album, Clouds Taste Metallic. The following year, guitarist Ronald Jones left the band and Flaming Lips became a trio. Still in the 90s, the band released two more studio albums: Zaireeka (1997) and the acclaimed The Soft Bulletin (1999).

Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots, 2002 album, was critically acclaimed. Then, the band released the albums At War with the Mystics (2006) and Embryonic (2009).

With collaborations from the group Stardeath and White Dwarfs, Henry Rollins and Peaches, the band released in 2009 the album The Flaming Lips and Stardeath and White Dwarfs with Henry Rollins and Peaches Doing The Dark Side of the Moon, which is about re-recording of the tracks from the classic album The Dark Side of the Moon by Pink Floyd. Also with several guests, including Bon Iver, Nick Cave, Kesha, Yoko Ono and Tame Impala, the band released in 2012 the album The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends.

The Terror, their thirteenth studio album, came out in 2013. With collaborations by artists like J Mascis, Miley Cyrus, Moby, Phantogram, Julianna Barwick and Tegan and Sara, the band released in 2014 the album With a Little Help from My Fwends, a track-by-track tribute to the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band.

In January 2017, the band released Oczy Mlody, their fourteenth studio album. His successor, King's Mouth: Music and Songs, came out in 2019, followed by American Head, a 2020 album.

Featured Songs