A Place to Bury Strangers

The music of A Place to Bury Strangers presents a heavy and experimental sound, with a style that mixes influences from shoegaze, space rock and noise rock. The Brooklyn, New York, band was formed in 2003. In its early years, APTBS established itself with Oliver Ackermann (vocals, guitar), Dion Lunadon (bass) and Jay Space (drums).

The band released several EPs before the release of their first album, A Place to Bury Strangers, which came out in 2007 on the Killer Pimp label. The debut album gained attention after the favorable review published by the Pitchfork website. Still in 2007, A Place to Bury Strangers toured with the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and, in the following year, opened some shows by Nine Inch Nails.

In 2009, the band signed with the label Mute Records, for which they released their second album, Exploding Head. An EP, with five tracks, entitled Onwards to the Wall came out in February 2012. In the same year the third album, Worship, came out.

In 2015, the band released the album ransfixiation. In 2018, drummer Lia Simon Braswell joined A Place to Bury Strangers, which released the album Pinned. In 2021, its formation was redefined. Oliver Ackermann appeared alongside drummer Sandra Fedowitz and bassist John Fedowitz, and released the Hologram EP. A new full-length work, See Through You, arrived in 2022.

Featured Songs


Featured Albums