The Coral


A band formed in 1996 in England, The Coral was successful with their first self-titled album, released in 2002. The album was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize and voted the fourth best album of the year by NME magazine. The music of the band formed by James Skelly (vocals, guitar), Lee Southall (guitar, vocals), Nick Power (keyboards), Bill Ryder-Jones (guitar, trumpet), Paul Duffy (bass, sax) and Ian Skelly (drums) ) was mainly labeled neo-psychedelia. But, his works also flirt with folk-rock and country.

Following, the band released the albums Magic and Medicine (2003), Nightfreak and the Sons of Becker (2004), The Invisible Invasion (2005) and Roots & Echoes (2007).

In 2008, Bill Ryder-Jones left the group. As a quintet, The Coral released the album Butterfly House in 2010. Its successor, an album recorded in 2006 and titled The Curse of Love came out in 2014. The group released their eighth album, Distance Inbetween, in 2016. Move Through the Dawn arrived in 2018. The group's tenth album, Coral Island, was released in 2021.

Featured Songs