Daft Punk


Daft Punk is an electronic music duo formed in 1993 in Paris by the French Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter. The two met in 1987, and, before Daft Punk, formed a band called Darlin ', in which Bangalter and Homem-Christo played bass and guitar, respectively.

Mixing different styles of electronic music, Daft Punk became one of the most influential and acclaimed names in pop music to emerge in the 1990s. In 1994, the duo released their first single, The New Wave. And the following year, Da Funk came out, which became his first commercially successful single.

The group signed with Virgin Records in September 1996 and the first album was released in 1997. Titled Homework, this debut album by the French duo, oriented towards the dance floors, brought a mixture of progressive house, funk, electro, techno and hip-hop. The album was rated by many critics as one of the most innovative dance music of the nineties.

The group's second album took four years to come out. Discovery was released in March 2001 and had "One More Time" as the main hit. The singles "Digital Love" and "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" were also successful on the UK and US music charts.

Human After All, Daft Punk's third studio album, was released in March 2005. This work received some negative comments from critics, being pointed out as excessively repetitive. "Robot Rock", "Technologic", "Human After All" and "The Prime Time of Your Life" were the singles taken from Human After All.

Tron: Legacy, a soundtrack composed by the French duo for the Walt Disney film, was released in 2010. Random Access Memories, Daft Punk's fourth studio album, arrived in May 2013. This work brings together collaborations from several artists, such as Nile Rodgers, Panda Bear, Julian Casablancas and Pharrell Williams, who sings on the track "Get Lucky".

In February 2021, Daft Punk announced his end.

Featured Songs


Featured Albums