Primal Scream


Scottish band formed in 1984 in the city of Glasgow by Bobby Gillespie (former drummer for The Jesus and Mary Chain) and Jim Beattie, Primal Scream became from the 1990s one of the main names of British alternative rock. Always led by Gillespie, the group has always had a constant line-up and flirting with styles like acid house, dance-rock and britpop.

In 1985, the band released their first single, All Fall Down, on the Creation Records label. The first album, Sonic Flower Groove, came out in 1987, followed by the namesake Primal Scream (1989). Mixing rock, dance, dub, techno and acid house, the group released in 1991 the classic album Screamadelica, which ended up becoming the main reference in the band's discography. The album was the first album to win the Mercury Music Prize in 1992.

Following the success of Screamadelica, Primal Scream released Give Out But Don't Give Up (1994), Vanishing Point (1997) and XTRMNTR (2000). In the first decade of the 21st century, the band released Evil Heat (2002), Riot City Blues (2006) and Beautiful Future (2008).

In 2013, the group released More Light, their tenth studio album. His successor, Chaosmosis, left in March 2016.

Featured Albums

2016 | Album
2013 | Album
2008 | Album
2006 | Album
2002 | Album
2000 | Album
1997 | Album
1991 | Album
1989 | Album

Related Posts