Magnetic Fields

Magnetic Fields

The Magnetic Fields is an indie pop band formed in 1989 in the American city of Boston by singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Stephin Merritt. The band's music flirts with genres like synthpop, lo-fi and noise pop.

Initially, on the first two albums ('Distant Plastic Trees', 1991, and 'The Wayward Bus', 1993), Susan Anway was the lead singer of the group. From the EP 'The House of Tomorrow' (1992), Stephin Merritt became the lead singer of Magnetic Fields. The band's best-known lineup includes Merritt, Claudia Gonson, Sam Davol and John Woo. Among his best known works is '69 Love Songs', a series of three albums released in 1999.

In 2017, the band released ‘50 Song Memoir’, an autobiographical concept album in which each track chronicles each year of the first fifty years of Stephin Merritt’s life. 'Quickies', Magnetic Fields' twelfth studio album, was released in 2020.


Featured Songs