Chromatics had their work flirting with various styles associated with alternative music, such as post-punk, lo-fi, synthpop, shoegaze and italo disco. Formed in 2001 in the American city of Portland, Oregon, by Adam Miller (bass - Percussion - vocals), Devin Welch (guitar), Michelle Nolan (bass) and Hannah Blilie (drums), the band was reformulated soon after the release of the first album, Chrome Rats vs. Basement Rutz (2003). From the original line-up, only Adam Miller continued with the project. In 2004, their second album, Plaster Hounds came out, which showed the band going in another direction, moving away from the punk/lo-fi sound of their first album and into the electronic genre. In 2005, the Chromatics lineup stabilized with Adam Miller (guitar), Ruth Radelet (vocals), Johnny Jewel (producer/multi-instrumentalist) and Nat Walker (drums).

In 2007, the group released Night Drive, an album that marks Ruth Radelet's debut on vocals. Night Drive was received by some publications. As well as the fourth album, Kill For Love, released in 2012. Seven years later, the group returned with a new studio album, entitled Closer to Grey, which features two covers, "The Sound of Silence" (Simon & Garfunkel) and "On the Wall" (The Jesus and Mary Chain). In 2021, the band announced its demise.

Featured Songs