Future Islands


Future Islands is an American synthpop band formed in 2006 by Samuel T. Herring (vocals), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards) and William Cashion (bass / guitar) in Greenville, North Carolina. Subsequently, in 2008, the group moved to Baltimore, Maryland. His music has as a basic reference the new wave, more precisely the work of bands like New Order and The Cure.

After releasing a few singles, Eps and splits, Future Islands had its debut with a complete album in 2008, when Wave Like Home came out. The following year, the band signed as the Thrill Jockey Records label, by which the albums In Evening Air (2010) and On the Water (2011) were released.

In early 2014, the band signed with the English label 4AD, by which they released in March of the same year their fourth studio album, entitled Singles. The album was critically acclaimed and featured the track "Seasons (Waiting On You)". The 2017 album The Far Field features Debbie Harry (Blondie) on the track "Shadows".

In 2020, Future Islands released As Long as You Are.

Featured Songs


Featured Albums