Xiu Xiu


American group formed in 2002 in San Jose, California, Xiu Xiu has its music linked to several genres, such as post-punk, art rock, experimental rock and synthpop. The band, which took its name from the Chinese film "Xiu Xiu: The Sent Down Girl", has singer and songwriter Jamie Stewart as the only constant member since its formation. However, starting in 2009, Angela Seo became a permanent member of the band.

The band released several albums starting in 2002. In 2013, Jamie Stewart and producer Shahzad Ismaily recorded in Iceland, at the Sigur Rós studio, several North American and Caribbean spiritual songs originally composed between 1850 and 1920. These records came out on the album 2014 Unclouded Sky.

Xiu Xiu Plays the Music of Twin Peaks, album of 2016, was composed of versions of songs from the soundtrack of the classic series "Twin Peaks". In 2017, Xiu Xiu released his tenth studio album, FORGET. A new work, Girl with Basket of Fruit, came out in 2019. With collaborations by Sharon van Etten, Chelsea Wolfe, Twin Shadow, Liz Harris, among others, the band's twelfth album, Oh No, arrived in 2021.

United States

Featured Albums

Oh No

2021 | Album


2017 | Album

Unclouded Sky

2014 | Album


2013 | Album


2012 | Album

Women as Lovers

2008 | Album

The Air Force

2006 | Album

La Forêt

2005 | Album

Fabulous Muscles

2004 | Album

A Promise

2003 | Album

Knife Play

2002 | Album

Related Posts