Skip to main content

The American band MC5 (short for “Motor City Five”) was formed in 1963 in Lincoln Park, Michigan, by guitarists Wayne Kramer and Fred "Sonic" Smith. In addition to both, their classic lineup consisted of Rob Tyner (vocals), Michael Davis (bass) and Dennis Thompson (drums). The group is associated with the genres garage rock, hard rock and, mainly, proto-punk, a genre characterized by the musical aggressiveness that gave rise to the punk sound.

The group released three albums – the live Kick Out the Jams (1969) and two studio albums, Back in the USA (1970) and High Time  (1971).

MC5 disbanded in 1972. Over the years, the band, reformed, made some sporadic returns.

In February 2024, Wayne Kramer passed away at the age of 75. Previously, other members of the original lineup died: Rob Tyner (1991), Fred "Sonic" Smith (1994) and Michael Davis (2012).

Featured Songs

Featured Albums

High Time
Back in the USA
Kick Out the Jams