Skip to main content
Nada Surf

From New York City, the alternative rock band Nada Surf was formed in 1993 by high school friends Matthew Caws (vocals, guitar) and Daniel Lorca (bass), who had both gone through small groups. The band's first record was a single released by a Spanish label. After the recording of this single, the original drummer, Aaron Conte, left the group, giving way to Ira Elliot.

The karmic, a five-song EP, was released in 1995. High/Low, the debut album, produced by ex-The Cars Ric Ocasek, was released in 1996 on the Elektra label. The song "Popular" became the great hit of this work, with the help of the video clip, which was widely played on MTV.

Disagreements between the band and the Elektra label meant that the second album, The Proximity Effect, released in 1998 in Europe, was only released in 2000 in the United States, through the band's own label, MarDev Records. Let Go, third album, was released in 2002 by Barsuk Records. Subsequently, the albums The Weight Is a Gift (2005) and Lucky (2008) came out.

In 2010, Nada Surf released a cover album, If I Had a Hi-Fi, in which he covered songs such as "Enjoy the Silence" (Depeche Mode), "Love Goes On" (The Go-Betweens) and "Love and Anger " (Kate Bush). The Stars Are Indifferent To Astronomy, the band's seventh studio album, arrived in January 2012. The band returned in 2016 with a new work, You Know Who You Are. Its follow-up, Never Not Together, was released in 2020.

Featured Songs

Featured Albums

Cycle Through
Never Not Together
You Know Who You Are
If I Had a Hi-Fi
The Weight Is a Gift
Let Go
The Proximity Effect