Despite emerging in the explosion of British punk, Wire remained part of that scene by incorporating sounds with artistic concepts into his music, moving to the experiment. The band formed in 1976 in London by Graham Lewis (bass / vocals), Bruce Gilbert (guitar), Colin Newman (vocals / guitar) and Robert Gotobed ​​(drums) was labeled by genres such as art punk, post-punk and industrial.

If they never achieved great popularity in the pop / rock universe, the band was an influence for a large number of artists, including Sonic Youth, R.E.M., Big Black, Pixies, Elastica and Franz Ferdinand.

In addition to the albums released in the late 1970s - Pink Flag (1977), Chairs Missing (1978) and 154 (1979) -, the group released a series of records in the following decades.

In 2013, Wire released Change Becomes Us, an album that brings together songs written between 1979 and 1980, which had been recorded until then. A new studio album, Wire, came out in April 2015. In 2016, the band released Nocturnal Koreans. Silver/Lead (2017) and Mind Hive (2020) followed. Still in 2020, 10:20 arrived, a collection of songs that were left out of his previous albums.

Featured Albums

2020 | Album
2020 | Album
2017 | Album
2016 | Album
2015 | Album
2013 | Album
2010 | Album
2008 | Album
2003 | Album
1990 | Album
1987 | Album
1979 | Album
1978 | Album
1977 | Album

Related Posts

Wire - "Internal Exile"

Wire - "Internal Exile"

Depois da faixa-título, lançada no mês passado, Wire compartilha...