Scottish electro-pop trio formed in 2009 in Glasgow by Lauren Mayberry (vocals, keyboards), Iain Cook (guitar, bass, synthesizers, vocals) and Martin Doherty (synthesizers, vocals), Chvrches started writing songs inspired by artists such as Depeche Mode, Kate Bush, Prince, Cocteau Twins, Cyndi Lauper and Whitney Houston.

In December 2012, the band appeared on the BBC's "Sound of 2013" list. Chvrches signed in January 2013 with the American label Glassnote Records. In March the EP Recover came out. Also in 2013, in September, the trio released their first album, entitled The Bones of What You Believe.

Every Open Eye, the second album, came out in September 2015. A new album, Love Is Dead, was released in 2018. The band released Screen Violence in 2021. This album features a collaboration with Robert Smith (The Cure) on the track "How Not to Drown".


Featured Albums