Skip to main content
 Death From Above

The Canadian noise rock duo Death from Above 1979 was formed in 2001 in the city of Toronto, Ontario, by Jesse F. Keeler (bass / synthesizer) and Sebastien Grainger (vocals / drums). Initially called just Death from Above, the band released the EP Head's Up on the Vancouver label Ache Records in 2002. After that release, they added "1979" in the name due to problems with the DFA Records label by LCD Soundsystem leader James Murphy.

Death from Above 1979 emerged on the music scene in 2004, when he released his debut album, You're a Woman, I'm a Machine, on the label Last Gang Records in Canada and Vice Recordings in the United States. His heavy and danceable music received labels like dance-punk and noise-punk, winning admirers around the world. The good reception from the critics of You're a Woman, I'm a Machine took the band on an extensive tour, including touring with Nine Inch Nails and Queens of the Stone Age.

Despite the buzz around the band, in 2006 Keeler and Grainger announced the end of Death from Above 1979. Keeler went to work as producer Al-P at MSTRKRFT, while Grainger created the project Sebastien Grainger & the Mountains.

In early 2011, a banda announced the return for several performances. His second album, The Physical World, was released in September 2014. In June 2017, the duo announced the exclusion of "1979" from its name. In September of the same year, the band released their third album, 'Outrage! Is Now'. In 2020, the band returned to use "1979" in the name. His fourth album arrived in 2021 under the title Is 4 Lovers.

Featured Songs

Featured Albums

Is 4 Lovers
Outrage! Is Now
The Physical World
Head's Up [EP]