Formed in 1995 in the city of Brussels, Belgium, by Liesje Sadonius (vocals), Alex Callier (guitar, programming), Frank Duchêne (keyboards) and Raymond Geerts (guitar), Hooverphonic makes what can be defined as elegant pop and sophisticated. The band's music became known through the collaboration with the song "2Wicky" on the soundtrack of the film "Stealing Beauty" (1996) by filmmaker Bernardo Bertolucci. This song is part of the band's first album, A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular, released in 1996. After this release, vocalist Liesje Sadonius left the group, being replaced by Geike Arnaert, who took over the vocals on the following album, Blue Wonder Power Milk (1998). After this release Frank Duchene left the band.

Subsequently, the band released the albums The Magnificent Tree (2000) and the excellent Hooverphonic Presents Jackie Cane (2002). In 2005, the band released No More Sweet Music, a double album, but the second one features the same songs from the first in different versions.

The President of the LSD Golf Club, Hooverphonic's sixth studio album, came out in 2007. The following year, vocalist Geike Arnaert announced her departure from the group to pursue a solo career. With new vocalist Noémie Wolfs, the group released The Night Before (2010) and Reflection (2013). Noémie Wolfs left the lineup in 2015. With the collaboration of several vocalists, the band released In Wonderland in 2016.

In 2018, Hooverphonic introduced Luka Cruysberghs as their new vocalist. She sang on the band's tenth studio album, Looking For Stars (2018). In 2020, Geike Arnaert returned to the band. On their comeback, the group released Hidden Stories in 2021.

Featured Songs


Related Posts