The House of Love

The House of Love

English band formed in 1986 in London by Guy Chadwick (vocals, guitar), Terry Bickers (guitar), Chris Groothuizen (bass), Andrea Heukamp (vocals, guitar) and Pete Evans (drums), The House of Love is more remembered in the alternative rock universe for the singles "Shine On", "Christine" and "Destroy the Heart".

Guy Chadwick had as his main motivation to create the group a performance of The Jesus and Mary Chain, which he watched at the London concert hall Electric Ballroom. In 1987, The House of Love released the first singles through Creation Records: "Shine On" and "Real Animal". After these releases, Heukamp left the band, which continued as a quartet. The first album, simply titled The House of Love, arrived the following year. In 1989, Bickers left the group, being replaced by Simon Walker.

The band's next albums were released on the Fontana label: The House of Love (The Butterfly Album, 1990), Babe Rainbow (1992) and Audience with the Mind (1993). After the latter, the band disbanded.

In 2005, Chadwick and Bickers reformed the band, which released the album Days Run Away. A new work arrived in 2013 titled She Paints Words in Red. With only Chadwick as a member of the original lineup, The House of Love released the album A State of Grace in 2022.


Related Posts