Skip to main content

Canadian post-rock band Godspeed You! Black Emperor (often abbreviated to GYBE or GY! BE) was formed in 1994 in the city of Montreal, Quebec. Acting with nine members, the group has its music characterized in long and instrumental songs, which in addition to conventional instruments such as guitar, bass, drums, makes use of violin, cello, harpsichord, metallophone and accordion. The band, which won admiration among fans of independent music, was also known for the projection of films during live performances.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor released three studio albums between 1997 and 2002 - F♯ A♯ ∞ (1997), Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven (2000) and Yanqui U.X.O. (2002). First released on vinyl, F♯ A♯ ∞ came out in 1998 on the American label Kranky Records in a CD version known as F# A# (Infinity).

In 2003, the group announced a pause in its activities. Godspeed You! Black Emperor announced the release of a new album in 2012. In the same year, Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, Canadian Polaris Music Prize Award Winning Album (2013). The group appeared with their fifth album in 2015, when they released Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress. In 2017, the band released Luciferian Towers. The group returned in 2021 with their seventh album, G_d's Pee AT STATE'S END!.