Mac McCaughan


American Ralph Lee "Mac" McCaughan, born July 12, 1967, is a founding member of the band Superchunk and the side project Portastatic.

Mac McCaughan and his bandmate, bassist Laura Ballance, founded the label Merge Records in 1989 to release work by Superchunk and fellow artists. However, the label has expanded and become one of the mainstays of the American independent scene, releasing albums by artists such as Arcade Fire, Bob Mould, Teenage Fanclub, The Rosebuds and others.

In 2015, McCaughan released his first solo album, Non-Believers. In 2019, he released a collaborative album titled New Rain Duets with harpist Mary Lattimore. His second solo work arrived in 2021 under the title The Sound of Yourself.

Estados Unidos

Featured Songs


Featured Albums