The Canadian indie rock band Metric was originally formed in Toronto, but had its formation in the American city of New York, Brooklyn, with vocalist Emily Haines, guitarist James Shaw, bassist Josh Winstead and drummer Joules Scott-Key as members.

In 2001, the band finished Grow Up and Blow Away, which was to be the band's first album. But the label Restless Records, which would release the record, was bought by Rykodisc and the work was shelved. That same year, the band released the EP Static Anonymity.

Old World Underground, Where Are You Now?, Metric's first official album came out in 2003, receiving positive reviews from critics. The album featured the singles "Combat Baby", "Succexy" and "Dead Disco". Two years later, in 2005, the band released Live It Out. Like its predecessor,Live It Out was well received, particularly in Canada. In 2007, Last Gang Records released Grow Up and Blow Away, the album that had been shelved in 2001.

Fantasies, Metric's praised 2009 album, featured the singles "Front Row", "Gimme Sympathy", "Sick Muse" and "Gold Guns Girls". In 2010, the band collaborated with the track "Eclipse (All Yours)", on the soundtrack of the movie "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse".

In 2012, the band released their fifth album, Synthetica. This was followed by Pagans in Vegas (2015) and Art of Doubt (2018). The group's eighth album, Formentera, arrived in 2022.