Weezer was formed in 1992 in the American city of Los Angeles by Rivers Cuomo (vocals, guitar), Jason Cropper (guitar), Matt Sharp (bass) and Patrick Wilson (drums). Jason left the band during the recording of the first album, giving the place to Brian Bell. Cuomo lived in rural Connecticut before going to Los Angeles to form the band.

Composing songs and playing in small clubs, Weezer was quick to sign a contract with the label Geffen and release the first album, Weezer (Blue Album), in 1994, which was produced by Ric Ocasek of The Cars. This first album gained public and critical attention. The hits include "Undone (The Sweater Song)", "Say it ain't so" and "Buddy Holly" (song that won a Portuguese version by the Brazilian band Bidê ou Balde).

The band's second album,Pinkerton (1996), became cult in the American indie rock scene, with well-defined and vigorous songs, such as "Butterfly", "El Scorcho" and "Good Life, The". However, the band itself did not like this album and sales were lower compared to the first album. In 1998, bassist Matt Sharp left Weezer to dedicate himself to the band The Rentals. Mikey Welsh, who played in Juliana Hatfield's band, replaced him.

In 2001, Weezer released Weezer (Green Album), his third studio album. In 2002, the album Maladroit was released. The fifth album, entitled Make Believe, was released in 2005. That same year, Weezer performed in Brazil, in the city of Curitiba. Following, the group released Weezer (Red Album) (2008), Raditude (2009) and Hurley (2010). In 2014, the band released Everything Will Be Alright in the End, an album produced by Ric Ocasek. Following was Weezer (The White Album) (2016).

In 2017, the band released his tenth studio album Pacific Daydream. In January 2019, Weezer released Weezer [Teal Album], an album composed of covers. In this work, the band re-recorded hits such as "Africa" ​​(Toto), "Everybody Wants to Rule the World" (Tears for Fears), "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)" (Eurythmics), "Take On Me" (A-ha), "Billie Jean" (Michael Jackson), among others. In March of the same year, the group released Weezer (Black Album), a new studio album.

In January 2021, the band released Ok Human, an album recorded with the collaboration of an orchestra of 38 people. A few months later, in May, Van Weezer arrived, a work inspired by hard rock.

Featured Songs