Smashing Pumpkins

The band Smashing Pumpkins started in 1987 in the city of Chicago. His first record was a single with the song "I Am One" released in 1990 by a local label.

Formed by Billy Corgan (vocals, guitar), James Iha (guitar), D'Arcy (bass) and Jimmy Chamberlin (drums), Smashing Pumpkins released their debut album in 1991, the excellent Gish. The album, produced by Butch Vig (producer of Nirvana's Nevermind album and later a member of the band Garbage) stood out for its heavy metal, gothic, dream pop, grunge and psychedelic rock references in their music. Gish put the band as one of the promises of American alternative rock in the early 90s.

WithSiamese Dream (1993), the second album, Smashing Pumpkins managed to enter the group of the great bands of that decade. "Disarm" and "Today" were some of the hits on this successful album.

To maintain their great status, the band released Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness in 1995. The double album brought hits "1979", "Bullet With Butterfly Wings" and "Zero". During the Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness tour, Jonathan Melvoin, keyboardist who accompanied the band, died of a cocaine overdose. Drummer Jimmy Chamberlin, being with Melvoin at the time of the incident, was removed from the band. Matt Walker took his place.

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness tour brought Smashing Pumpkins to Brazil for the first time. The band performed in January 1996 at the Hollywood Rock festival. In 1998 the album Adore was released. Jimmy Chamberlin later returned to the band and bassist D'Arcy left, later being replaced by Melissa Auf Der Maur (ex-Hole). On the Adore tour, the band played again in Brazil, performing in the cities of Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo.

In 2000, the band released the album Machina: The Machines of God. That same year, Billy Corgan announced the end of the band. However, in April 2006, he announced the return of the band. But, with only two original members: he and Jimmy Chamberlin. In 2007, Smashing Pumpkins released the album Zeitgeist. New members were added to the tour for this album: Jeff Schroeder (guitar, vocals), Ginger Reyes (bass, vocals) and Lisa Harriton (keyboards, vocals).

In early 2009, Chamberlin left the band. Subsequently, the band consolidated its training with Corgan and Schroeder, and the addition of drummer Mike Byrne and bassist Nicole Fiorentino. The following year, the band performed in São Paulo at the Festival Planeta terra.

In 2009, the group announced a Teargarden by Kaleidyscope project, which consisted of a concept album, in which the tracks would be released one by one over the internet, via free download, in a total of 44 songs. After some songs released between 2009 and 2010 (which also came out in EPs), the band decided to release a conventional album within this project. Titled Oceania, the album came out in June 2012, bringing 13 tracks. Following, Monuments to an Elegy was released in 2014.

The band's tenth studio album, Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. came out in 2018. Produced by Rick Rubin, the album marks the presence of three original members in the formation of the band: Billy Corgan, James Iha and Jimmy Chamberlain. Cyr, a work with 20 tracks, arrived in 2020.

Featured Songs