Spoon was formed in 1993 in Austin, Texas by vocalist/guitarist Britt Daniel and drummer Jim Eno. When, in 1996, they released their first album, entitled Telephono, on Matador Records, the band had its sound compared to the work of groups like Pixies and Wire.

Their second album, A Series of Sneaks (1998) was released by Elektra Records. Starting in 2001, Spoon released a number of albums on Merge Records: Girls Can Tell (2001), Kill the Moonlight (2002), Gimme Fiction (2005), Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (2007) and Transference (2010). In 2014, their eighth studio album, They Want My Soul, came out on Loma Vista Recordings.

Back at Matador Records, the band released in 2017 the album Hot Thoughts. In 2022, the tenth album, titled Lucifer on the Sofa, arrived in February.

Featured Songs


Featured Albums