The Black Keys

The Black Keys

The Black Keys were formed in 2001 in Akron, Ohio. The American band has been compared to The White Stripes, both for having their music based on the blues, and being formed by a duo — Dan Auerbach (vocalist/guitarist) and Patrick Carney (drummer/producer). In 2002, the band released their first album. The Big Come Up features a cover of "She She Said, She Said" song by the Beatles.

Thickfreakness, the second album, released in 2003, featured the singles "Set You free", "Hard Row" and a re-recording of "Have Love Will Travel", a 1959 song by American singer-songwriter Richard Berry. Following came the albums Rubber Factory (2004), Magic Potion (2005), Attack & Release (2008) and Brothers (2010).

El Camino, The Black Keys' seventh studio album, was released in December 2011. Underpinned by two powerful singles — "Lonely Boy" and "Gold on the Ceiling", El Camino brought the band great popularity as well as being won the Grammy award for best rock album in February 2013.

In May 2014, the band released a new album, titled Turn Blue. After this record, the band went into a hiatus in which Auerbach and Carney dedicated themselves to side projects, highlighting Auerbach's band the Arcs. Around this time, Auerbach also released a solo album. In 2019, the band returned with 'Let's Rock'. Delta Kream, a cover album in which the group honors Mississippi Blues artists such as Junior Kimbrough, RL Burnside and John Lee Hooker, arrived in 2021. The following year, Dropout Boogie, the duo's eleventh studio album, was released.

Featured Albums